Monday, July 16, 2018

Map of 2018 Ekiti State Gubernatorial Election Final Result

The much anticipated 2018 Ekiti state gubernatorial election has come to pass and 24 hours after the result has been announced by INEC, Nigeria social and news medias are flooded with the result.

Unfortunately, non has analysed the result on a map. In this post, I will related the result to map of Ekiti state so we can see the spatial relationship in the result.

Ekiti state has 16 local governments and 177 electoral wards.

According to the results of the poll announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, "Dr. Kayode Fayemi" of All Progressives Congress (APC) won in 12 of the 16 local governments, leaving only four local governments for "Prof. Kolapo Olusola" of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Fayemi polled 197,459 while Olusola scored 178,114 votes.

Map of 12 LGs won by APC

As it can be seen, the PDP didn't win any LGA from Ekiti North Senatorial Districts. This is clearly revealed when the result is viewed on a map instead of a table. Lets see the heat map of votes obtained by each party.

APC vote count heat map

PDP vote count heat map

From the heat map, it can be seen that both parties got good amount of votes in "Ado-Ekiti" which is the state capital.

No comments:

Post a Comment